South Korea – Gangnam gu, Seocho gu, Songpa gu (Part 3)

Cat Cafe, Chonho

Cat Cafe, one of the best things that happened in my life!  There is nothing much about the food or drinks in Cat Cafe as the main attraction are the cats chilling in the cafe.  The cafe offers drinks for the human, and food for the cat.  If you would like to feed the cat during your visit, feel free to purchase some cat food at the counter and feed the cats yourself.  Please keep in mind that this is not your place, it belongs  to the cats.  Thus forceful actions toward the cats are unacceptable.  If a cat occupies your seat, find somewhere else to seat.  Get it.

For those with allergies who still want to visit this place, please get something to cover your nose and mouth.  You will thank me later.  I feel sorry for my gal sneezing constantly after the visit T.T.

Cat Cafe, Chonho
Cat Cafe, Chonho
Cat Cafe, Chonho
Cat Cafe, Chonho

COEX

Seoul Design 2012 Expo was held there at that time.  They really have interesting items here.  From furniture to traveling good.  Innovative koreans!

COEX
COEX
COEX, Seoul Design 2012 Expo
COEX, Seoul Design 2012 Expo
COEX, Seoul Design 2012 Expo
COEX, Seoul Design 2012 Expo
COEX, Seoul Design 2012 Expo
COEX, Seoul Design 2012 Expo

Gangnam District

The reason why I came here was because I wanted to buy a polaroid, not because of Psy.  But to tell you the truth, there is nothing much here in Gangnam.  Although I have been wearing the same clothes for 10 days straight, I still think my fashion instinct is reliable to be impose in judging other people’s fashion.  And the way I see it in Gangnam (also my gal told me this), the people are prone to wear black clothes/suits to imitate the “Hollywood” fashion whereas in Hongdae, street + hip hop or whatever fashion exist there. Gangnam is pretty boring.

OP OP OP OP OPPA Voting Style
OP OP OP OP OPPA Voting Style
Gangnam District
Gangnam District

Geumsan Ginseng Museum & Chaegidongyangryongsichang Market, Geusan

Since both museum and market are closely positioned in the city of Geusan, I will just include both locations under one post.

Honestly, I have been to a few museums in Korea but NOTHING has a mind blowing introduction like this museum.  Yes people, maybe you might think that it is just a Ginseng museum, but don’t let it fool you.  I will not say a word, but urge you to pay this museum a visit.  Very much informative and allows you to experience a hands on method on how to crush herbs using traditional utensils.

Right across the street from the museum, is the Chaegidongyangryongsichang market. It offers a range of traditional herbs.  A very good place to buy gifts for your parents or you’r partner’s parents if you do not have any idea on what to give them.  Basically, if you are not a fan of modernise medications, this is a good place to visit.  However, just another tip, some herbs require special machine to crush them before it can be consume, so make sure you make the right choice before buying them if you do not have the machine.

Geumsan Ginseng Museum
Geumsan Ginseng Museum
Geumsan Ginseng Museum
Geumsan Ginseng Museum
Chaegidongyangryongsichang Market, Geusan
Chaegidongyangryongsichang Market, Geusan
Chaegidongyangryongsichang Market, Geusan
Chaegidongyangryongsichang Market, Geusan

Moraenesichang  – More info about the riot

As I mentioned earlier, there was a peaceful riot commencing while i was in Seoul.  Due to the riot, supermarket such as E-Mart & Homeplus (Korean Tesco) were not operating for a few days.  My gal and I travelled from the World Cup Stadium to Digital City to get some food for our BBQ but unfortunately, not a single supermarket was open. Thus we had to go to the Moraenesichang wet market.  Everything is fresh here!  Reasonable prices too.

Moraenesichang
Moraenesichang
Moraenesichang
Moraenesichang
Moraenesichang
Moraenesichang
Moraenesichang
Moraenesichang

Bangsansichang Market 

If you have been paying close attention reading my blog, you will notice the word Sichang (시장) in both mentioned places (Moraenisichang & Bangsansichang).  As a korean scholar I will tell you what it means, sichang means market.  There, you just got yourself a 1st degree of Korean Language.

Moving forward to Bangsansichang, it takes you back to memory lane.  It felt as if i entered into another ancient era.  Quite a number of shops were displaying old sewing machines for sale.  Apart from that, belt buckles in different shapes and sizes are also available which can be purchased for novelty collections.  But that is not all, I would suggest you to dive into this classic market and witness this piece of ancient part of Seoul.

Bangsansichang Market
Bangsansichang Market
Bangsansichang Market
Bangsansichang Market
Bangsansichang Market
Bangsansichang Market
Bangsansichang Market
Bangsansichang Market
Bangsansichang Market
Bangsansichang Market

World Cup Stadium

I didn’t look around here as my gal and I were viciously looking for a supermarket.  Pardon the absence of pictures.

Digital Media City

Pardon the absence of pictures..There is nothing here, I mean LITERALLY NOTHING.

Sinsadong, Garosugil

Another hip and young district.  It is quite small compared to Hongdae.  Pardon the absence of pictures..

Namsangol Village

I have always wonder how does the traditional korean houses look like.  Not just the building but the interior part of it.  Namsangol Village answered my 5 days question while I was in Korea.  Peaceful and beautiful as always.

Namsangol Vilage
Namsangol Vilage
Namsangol Village
Namsangol Village
Namsangol Village
Namsangol Village
Time Capsule
Namsangol Village
Namsangol Village

War Memorial Museum 

I love war museums although I am not a fan of history.  The war Memorial Museum offers a whole lot of information,  weapon replicas used during the war and so on.  Me, being ignorant in certain situations was amazed that North Korean was aided by Russia and China during the Korean War!!

With this recent discovery that i have just found, I find myself reading more about the Korean War history after the visit from the museum.

*Did you know that the North Korean armies received hand me down (2nd hand) equipments/vehicles from Russia during the war?  I bet you didn’t know that : D .  Even if you know it, just give me a goddamn chance to show that i care about history.

Korean War Memorial
Korean War Memorial
Korean War Memorial
Korean War Memorial
Korean War Memorial
Korean War Memorial

Leave a comment